Garage Rock

CD Universe - Buy Music CDs, TV on DVD, DVDs, Blu-ray, Video Games for Wii, XBox360, PlayStation 3 and Much More


Reliable $1 Web Hosting by HostBig
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Years: 1964 - 1970
Styles: Beat, Garage Rock, Psychedelic Rock


Rudy Bennett - Vocals
Henk Smitskamp - Bass Guitar (in band: 1964 - 1967)
Sieb Warner - Drums (in band: 1964 - 1969)
Robbie van Leeuwen - Guitar (in band: 1964 - Mar, 1967)


Gerard Romeyn - Bass Guitar, Guitar (in band: 1967 - 1968)
Leo Bennink - Guitar (in band: 1967 - 1970)
Jan Vennik - Flute, Saxophone (in band: 1968)
Bob van der Vaart - Keyboards, Vocals (in band: 1968 - 1970)
Paul van Melzen - Bass Guitar (in band: 1968 - 1970)
Han Gordinou de Gouberville - Drums (in band: 1968 - 1970)

Biography Picture    The Motions from The Hague were one of the bigger groups of the 1960s Dutch beat explosion. They were formed in 1964.

     From 1964 to 1967, the line-up was stable: Rudy Bennett (vocals, earlier as Ritchie Clark and the Ricochets), Robbie van Leeuwen (guitar, ex-Atmospheres & Ricochets, later the founder of Shocking Blue and Galaxy Lin), Henk Smitskamp (bass, ex-Willy & Giants, later to Livin' Blues) & Sieb Warner (drums, ex-Ricochets, later to Golden Earring). This line-up had a string of hits in The Netherlands during 1965 and 1966 with singles like "Wasted Words" and "It's The Same Old Song".

      Their first album, "Introduction To The Motions", is considered one of the best albums of the era. Early 1967, Robbie left to form Shocking Blue and was replaced by Gerard Romeyn (ex-Tee-Set, later with Nico HaakImage). Late 1967, Henk Smitskamp was ousted in favour of Leo Bennink (ex-Mack and Jay-Jays). A fifth member was found in multi-instrumentalist Jan Vennik (sax, flute & organ, also ex-Jay-Jays, later to Rob Hoeke & Ekseption). When in mid-1968 Gerard Romeyn and Jan Vennik were busted for posession of marijuana and incarcerated, the band took in Paul van Melzen (ex-Haigs, later in the Mailer McKenzie Band) on bass and Bobby Green, (Bob van der Vaart - organ, ex-Bobby Green Selection, also to Fisher & Friends). Bennink switched to guitar.

     This line up recorded the album "Electric Baby" for Decca in 1969. The band then suffered another setback by the departure of drummer Sieb Warner to rivals Golden Earring (who'd by then just dropped the 's' off Earrings). His replacement was Han Cooper (Han Gordinou de Gouberville). They did a few gigs in England and went on a trip to the USA (only playing at The Scene Club in New York), but international success eluded them. They recorded one more album for the Simogram label of supermarket chain Simon de Wit, but split up soon afterwards.



Introduction To The Motions (1965)
Their Own Way (Jun 24, 1966)
Impressions Of Wonderful (1968)
Electric Baby (1969)
Sensation (1971)

Singles & EPs

It's Gone / I've Got Misery (Feb, 1965)
You Bother Me (Mar, 1965)
For Another Man (Jun, 1965)
Love Won't Stop (Sep, 1965)
I Follow The Sun (Oct, 1965)
There's No Place To Hide (Feb, 1966)
Why Don't You Take It (Apr, 1966)
Every Step I Take (Sep, 1966)
It's The Same Old Song (Nov, 1966)
I Want You, I Need You (Apr, 1967)
Wonderful Impressions (Sep, 1967)
Nellie The Horse (Sep, 1967)
Tonight Will Be Stoned (Oct, 1967)
You're My Adee (Jan, 1968)
Take Your Time (Mar, 1968)
Miracle Man / Something (Apr 15, 1968)
I Ain´t Got Time (Jul 29, 1968)
Take The Fast Train (Dec 2, 1968)
It´s Alright (Mar 3, 1969)
Freedom (May 12, 1969)
Eliza (Aug 4, 1969)
I Can´t Help It (Nov 10, 1969)

© Boar  2011 - 2019