Progressive Rock

CD Universe - Buy Music CDs, TV on DVD, DVDs, Blu-ray, Video Games for Wii, XBox360, PlayStation 3 and Much More


Reliable $1 Web Hosting by HostBig
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 
United Kingdom

Years: 1972 - 1975; 1977 - 1978
Styles: Canterbury Scene, Jazz Rock, Progressive Rock


Mike Travis - Drums, Percussion (in band: 1972 - 1975)
Alan Gowen - Electric piano, Keyboards, Piano, Saxophone (in band: 1972 - 1975; 1977 - 1978)


Amanda Parsons - Vocals
Jeff Clyne - Bass Guitar (in band: 1972 - 1973)
Alan Wakeman - Saxophone (in band: 1972 - 1973)
Rick Morcombe - Guitar (in band: 1972 - 1973)
Steve Cook - Bass Guitar (in band: 1973 - 1975)
Richard Sinclair - Bass Guitar (in band: 1973 - 1975)
Peter Lemer - Keyboards (in band: 1973 - 1975)
Phil Lee - Guitar (in band: 1973 - 1975; 1977 - 1978)
Neil Murray - Bass Guitar (in band: 1973; 1977)
Mont Campbell - Bass Guitar (in band: 1975)
Trevor Tomkins - Drums (in band: 1977 - 1978)
Hugh Hopper - Bass Guitar (in band: 1978)

Biography Picture     Gilgamesh was formed in the autumn of 1972. It split up in late 1975, shortly after the release of its debut album. It was revived sometime in 1977 for occasional rehearsals which led to the recording of the second album in the summer of 1978.

     The original nucleus of Gilgamesh was the duo of Alan Gowen on keyboards and Mike Travis on drums. After a series of line-up changes involving players like Rick Morcombe, Jeff Clyne, Alan Wakeman and Richard Sinclair, the quartet stabilised in early 1973 with the arrival of Phil Lee on guitar and Neil Murray on bass. There were then a few changes of bass player, with Murray being replaced by Steve Cook, Mont Campbell and finally Jeff Clyne again for the album sessions. After leaving National Health in March 1977, Gowen started work on new compositions, and occasionally assembled an informal line-up of Gilgamesh - consisting of himself, Phil Lee, Neil Murray and Trevor Tomkins - to rehearse it. When the time came to record a second album in June 1978, Murray was replaced by Hugh Hopper, but this line-up only lasted for the duration of the sessions.  


Gilgamesh (1975)
Another Fine Tune You've Got Me Into (1978)
Arriving Twice (Sep 19, 2000)

© Boar  2011 - 2019