CD Universe - Buy Music CDs, TV on DVD, DVDs, Blu-ray, Video Games for Wii, XBox360, PlayStation 3 and Much More


Reliable $1 Web Hosting by HostBig
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Years: 1971 - 1975; 1985 - 1986
Styles: Experimental Rock, Krautrock, Proto punk


Klaus Dinger - 11-string guitar, Drums, Farfisa piano, Guitar, Japanese banjo, OB8, Organ, Percussion, Piano, Record player , Vocals (in band: 1971 - 1975; 1985 - 1986)
Michael Rother - Bass Guitar, Cassette recorder, Deh-guitar, Double bass, Fairlight CMI, Guitar, Percussion, Piano, Synthesizer, Vocals, Zither (in band: 1971 - 1975; 1985 - 1986)


Eberhard Kranemann - Bass Guitar, Slide guitar (in band: 1972)
Uli Trepte - Bass Guitar (in band: 1972)
Thomas Dinger - Drums (in band: 1975)
Hans Lampe - Drums (in band: 1975)
Konrad Mathieu - Bass Guitar, Double bass (in band: 1985 - 1986)
Georg Sessenhausen - Drums (in band: 1985 - 1986)


Old Music Encyclopedia Picture   Neu!  was a German band formed in 1971 in Düsseldorf by Klaus Dinger and Michael Rother after their split from Kraftwerk in the early 1970s.

   Klaus Dinger played drums on the first Kraftwerk LP in 1971. The following year he joined forces with Michael Rother and they formed Neu!, releasing their self-titled debut LP on German label Brain. Their music was heavily innovative and influential, melting distorted guitars with metronomic drumming, noise effects and tapes.

    The second LP, "Neu! 2", was released in 1973 and featured the first remix experiments, with tracks recorded at 16 and 78 rpm. The band split in 1975 after releasing their final LP, "Neu! 75". They eventually recorded more material in the 1980s. Michael Rother pursued a solo career, while Klaus Dinger went on to form La Düsseldorf.

     NEU! only made three studio albums during their brief existence in the 70s , but they were uniformly excellent.


Neu! (1972)
Neu! 2 (1973)
Neu! 75 (1975)
Neu! 4 (Dec 1, 1995)
Neu! '86 (Apr 17, 2010)

Singles & EPs

Super / Neuschnee (1972)
Isi / After Eight (Jun 20, 1975)
Crazy / Euphoria (2010)

© Boar  2011 - 2019