CD Universe - Buy Music CDs, TV on DVD, DVDs, Blu-ray, Video Games for Wii, XBox360, PlayStation 3 and Much More


Reliable $1 Web Hosting by HostBig
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 

Years: 1964 - 1966
Styles: Beat, Pop Rock, Rock and Roll


John Collins - Drums, Vocals (in band: 1964 – 1966)
Bon Scott - Drums, Vocals (in band: 1964 – 1966)


Murray Gracie - Rhythm guitar, Vocals (in band: 1964 – 1966)
Wyn Milson - Guitar (in band: 1964 – 1966)
Brian Gannon - Bass Guitar (in band: 1964 – 1966)

Biography Picture     The Spektors were an Australian  beat,  pop and rock 'n' roll band active in Perthfrom 1964 to mid-1966. Their co-drummer and part-time lead singer, Bon Scott, was later lead vocalist with hard rockers, AC/DC.

    The Spektors were formed in 1964 by co-vocalists and co-drummers John Collins and Bon Scott, along with Brian Gannon on bass guitar, Murray Gracie on rhythm guitar and vocals, and Wyn Milsom on guitar. Collins and Scott would each play half a set as drummer and the other half as lead vocalist. They performed beat, pop and rock 'n' roll music.

    The Spektors enjoyed local acclaim by winning the Perth heat of the national  Hoadley's Battle of the Sounds competition. Their repertoire included popular songs, often originally by The Rolling Stones and The Beatles. As the band developed, Scott would step up and sing occasionally while Collins played drums, on songs such as a cover of Van Morrison's "Gloria". According to Gracie their influences were "more blues than pop – groups like the Pretty Things, Them, and the Kinks".

     In October 1965 the group recorded four tracks for local TV show, Club 17, including cover versions of "Gloria", Mike Berry's "On My Mind", The Beatles' "Yesterday" and George Gershwin's "It ain't necessarily so". In late 1966, Milsom and Scott joined with members of local rivals The Winstons, and formed a new group, The Valentines, with Scott sharing vocal duties with WinstonsVince Lovegrove.


Singles & EPs

With The Spektors (1992)

© Boar  2011 - 2019